Chef Benjie-san’s Oishi Batchoi: On Batchoy Ramen, Gyoza, and Rainbow Maki

I’ve visited Iloilo couple of years ago and I made sure that I get to sink my teeth to their famous Bachoy as I truly love this dish. I made sure to included it on my itinerary. So, I visited the La Paz Market and tried the Batchoy in Netong’s. I paired it with some puto and I was just glad that I got to taste and experience it in the birth place of this dish.

When I first heard of Chef Benjie-san’s Oichi Batchoi, the memory I had in Iloilo flashed back.  I told my inner self that I gotta try their version in Ramen.

Sm Sta Rosa

Sm Sta Rosa

Sm Sta Rosa

The ambiance is neat. There are funny memes framed and placed on its walls along with some cherry blossoms to compliment the place.

Sm Sta Rosa

Original Miso Classic Batchoy (Php215) –  Tonkotsu pork broth prepared in the traditional method, with rich miso soup, topped with pork liver, classic roast pork chasyu, pork cracklings, with freshly made noodles, egg, and naruto

Sm Sta Rosa

Ok, so, the meat was tender. The pork liver made it tastes like Batchoi but the broth was a bit bland. The noodles were firm which I liked.

Sm Sta Rosa

Sm Sta Rosa

Gyoza (Php135 for 8 pieces) – Japanese potsticker filled with pork and veggies. Steamed then fried.
The Gyoza was really good.  It was chewy yet has that crispy side to it that I was looking for

Sm Sta Rosa

Rainbow Maki (Php210) colorful maki rolls of mango, salmon, tuna with kani filling, topped with orange and green ebikko, with special maki sauce

Sm Sta Rosa

Overall, I find the Maki and Gyoza real good.  I just had a hard time liking the Batchoi Ramen, though.  I probably prefer the one I tasted in Iloilo which was salty, savory, the egg noodles were soft yet has that bite back.

Address: Ground Floor, SM City Santa Rosa, Manila South Road, Tagapo, Santa Ros

Chef Benjie-san's Oishi Batchoi Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Published by Anj

Foodie. Adventurer. Music Festival Enthusiast. Frustrated Musician. Mommy.

Leave a comment